Healthy eating

Consume a wide range of foods.

Healthy eating entails consuming a wide range of foods from each of the five major food categories in the suggested proportions. The Australian Dietary Guidelines provide us with the most up-to-date information on the types and amounts of foods we should eat to stay healthy, and the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating lists these.

Eating a variety of foods from the five major food categories feeds the body with various nutrients, supports overall health, and can help minimize illness risk while keeping your diet interesting with a diversity of flavors and textures.

Many items commonly seen in modern diets do not fall into one of the five food categories. These items, often known as ‘junk’ foods, ‘discretionary choices,’ or ‘occasional foods,’ can be enjoyed occasionally but should not be regularly included in a balanced diet. Fats and oils are high in kilojoules (energy), yet they are essential in limited amounts for a balanced diet.

It’s simple to make small changes to get your diet closer to the Australian Dietary Guidelines, no matter where you start. Simply stick to meals from the five major food groups while limiting your intake of “occasional” items.

There are five primary food groups.

The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating divides foods into five categories that should be included in our regular meals.

The five food groups are as follows:

legumes or beans, as well as vegetables
Fruit, fish, eggs, tofu, nuts and seeds, legumes or beans grain (cereal) meals, primarily whole grain or high cereal fiber variants milk, yogurt, cheese or equivalents, mostly low fat
Because they supply similar levels of vital nutrients, foods are classified together. Calcium and protein are major elements in the milk, yogurt, cheese, and substitutes category, whereas vitamins, particularly vitamin C, are abundant in the fruit group.

A diverse, well-balanced diet consists of regularly consuming a range of foods from each of the five food categories in the prescribed proportions. It’s vital to eat various meals from each food category since different foods contain varying types and quantities of key nutrients. Additionally, picking a range of foods helps keep your meals interesting and prevents you from becoming bored with your diet.

Occasionally consumed foods

Some foods do not belong in the five food groups since they are not required for a balanced diet. These items are ‘discretionary choices’ (sometimes known as ‘junk foods’) and should only be consumed on rare occasions. They are heavy in saturated fat, added sugars, added salt, or alcohol and poor in key nutrients such as fiber. These meals and beverages may also be rich in kilojoules (energy). Eating more kilojoules than your body requires regularly will result in weight gain.